The Folk In Me

Ive been on a huge acoustic folk kick lately so I thought I would post a few videos from youtube of some great songs from some great artists that I’ve had on repeat. I’m sure you’ve heard most all of them;however, I don’t think any of them ever get old. The lyrics are below them. Enjoy.

James Taylor-Highway Song

I'm thinking 'bout a broken heart
I'm talking 'bout the break of dawn
You love me while I'm here
Then you can miss me when I'm gone
Sweet misunderstanding
Won't you leave a poor boy alone
I'm the one eyed seed of a tumbleweed
In the belly of a rolling stone
Back on the highway, yeah, yeah, yeah
Back on the road again
I had a little woman in Memphis
She wanted to be my bride
She said, settle on down, traveling man
You can stay right by my side
I tried so hard to please her
But I couldn't hold out too long
'Cause one Saturday night I was laying in bed
And I heard that highway song
Back on the highway, yeah, yeah, yeah
Back on the road again
Now one of these days that highway song will lose its appeal to me
I'm gonna settle on down like a natural born man
I'm gonna live my life naturally (Free and easy)
Until that day the thunder's gonna roll
And I notice there's a sign of rain
So I grab my bags and I pack my clothes
And I'm back on the road again
Back on the highway, yeah, yeah, yeah
Back on the road again
I'm thinking 'bout a broken heart
I been talking 'bout the break of dawn
You loved me while I'm here
and you can miss me when I'm gone
And I said sweet misunderstanding
Won't you leave a poor boy alone
'Cause I'm the one eyed seed of a tumbleweed
In the belly of a rolling stone
Back on the highway, yeah, yeah, yeah
Back on the road again
Here I am again
Holiday Inn
Same old four walls again
Gee, but it's fine to be back home again (whoa, now)
Say, Holiday Inn, I'm on the road again

Neil Young-Dont Let It Bring You Down 


 Old man lying
 by the side of the road
 With the lorries rolling by,
 Blue moon sinking
 from the weight of the load
 And the buildings scrape the sky,
 Cold wind ripping
 down the alley at dawn
 And the morning paper flies,
 Dead man lying
 by the side of the road
 With the daylight in his eyes.
 
 Don't let it bring you down
 It's only castles burning,
 Find someone who's turning
 And you will come around.
 
 Blind man running
 through the light
 of the night
 With an answer in his hand,
 Come on down
 to the river of sight
 And you can really understand,
 Red lights flashing
 through the window
 in the rain,
 Can you hear the sirens moan?
 White cane lying
 in a gutter in the lane,
 If you're walking home alone.
 
 Don't let it bring you down
 It's only castles burning,
 Just find someone who's turning
 And you will come around.
 
 Don't let it bring you down
 It's only castles burning,
 Just find someone who's turning
 And you will come around.

Monsters of Folk-Temazcal
putting on my power, righteous as a rose
 dynamite the mountain, now i'm walking up the road
 the love we made at gunpoint wasn't love at all
 the dancing in the valley, the moons, the mirrored ball
 blew open my mind, now it's an empty room
 swinging in the hammock, dogs are walking across the roof
 i watch you braid your hair, you're from another time
 when the earth wasn't so angry
 and god was on our side
 
 searching west and east
 and all points in-between
 underneath the lines of thought
 you're there and then you're not
 
 the mayans stole tomorrow, hid it underground
 we come with heavy magnets but it still hasn't been found
 i'm sweating out my secrets in the temazcal
 they're screaming in the calle that there are stars about to fall
 
 looking through the trees
 cities and the seas
 things we've seen
 ovnis on the lawn
they're there and then they're gone
 there and then they're gone
 
 searching west and east
 all points in between
 and underneath the hand of god
 you're there and then you're not 

Whether your listening to the newer gods of folk or your listening to Neil 
young play on his old black acoustic guitar, folk is a great thing to get 
wrapped up in. Enjoy. 

Simon

IStillGotMyGuitar


Leave a Reply

